Thursday, May 17, 2007

Dipping My Brain In Joy

Until recently you could buy a CD calle Recycled Vinyl Blues on Amazon, which contains Neil Innes' first solo album plus a few extra tracks. Of course, I kept putting off buying it and when I went there the other day I found that it's not available any more - apart from a 2nd hand copy at sixty-five quid or so.

So it was out with the deck again and rip rip rip.

This is Neil Innes' first solo album, and it predates the Rutland one by a year or so. It's got its fair share of comedy tracks - and the first recorded outing of the Franglias 'L'amour Perdu' - but also some touching & beautiful stuff as well such as the lovely 'Song For Yvonne' (in fact, the first 5 tracks on side two - that's 6-10 here)

Wizzo lead guitar, of course, by the sadly missed Ollie Halsall.

Neil Innes - How Sweet To Be An Idiot (1973)

01 - Prologue
02 - Momma Bee
03 - Immortal Invisible
04 - Topless A-Go-Go
05 - Feel No Shame
06 - How Sweet To Be An Idiot
07 - Dream On
08 - L'Amour Perdu
09 - Song For Yvonne
01 - 10 - This Love Of Ours
11 - Singing A Song Is Easy


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks for ripping and uploading this. I've been after it for approximately forever.

9:31 pm  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home