Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Humdrum Days Still Flying Out The Window

Two more for you today. The first is a live concert from 1984 by Modern English, recorded for an American radio station and first made available on Wolfgang's Vault. This isn't my recording or rip, all I've done is separated the songs into individual files. I can't take any credit for anything else, except the picture below which I created from a photo of the band and my scan of the back cover of the Ricochet Days 12".

As a live gig it's OK, not hugely different from the released versions of the tracks but interesting enough - the 3 original albums are, of course, magnificent. I think I've posted them here somewhere, along with assorted 12" extras. I'm sure some will let me know if I haven't.

Modern English - Live In New York (1984)

00 - Intro
01 - Rainbow's End
02 - Spinning Me Round
03 - Someone's Calling
04 - After The Snow
05 - Hands Across The Sea
06 - Machines
07 - Ricochet Days
08 - Blue Waves
09 - Life In The Gladhouse
10 - I Melt With You
11 - Tables Turning
12 - Gathering Dust

The late Marian Montgomery had one of the most gorgeous voices in jazz, and it's a pity that her recorded output doesn't really do her justice. There are a couple of her early jazz albums available on CD, and some late live recordings, but this is from a rather middle-of-the-road and bland period in 1972. Her voice manages to transcend some of the material, while some of the other tracks are less great. Never mind. I used to like this album a lot.

The eagle-eared among you may notice that she apparently sings half of the same line twice - that's my fault. Despite my best efforts to clean up my vinyl there was one jump I couldn't get rid of - so I spliced a few words from another line in to the gap. Hope it doesn't spoil your enjoyment.

Marian Montgomery - Marian In The Morning (1972)

01 - Morning Of My Life
02 - Sweet Gingerbread Man
03 - Walk A Mile In My Shoes
04 - You've Got A Friend
05 - Love
06 - Should There Be A Next Time
07 - Maybe In The Morning
08 - Crying, Loving, Laughing
09 - Ask Yourself Why
10 - If You Could Read My Mind
11 - It Must Be Love
12 - Birds

Thursday, October 09, 2008

Ben Goldacre killed Amanda Palmer

If you care about the world, buy this book.

If you care about music, buy this CD.





Tuesday, October 07, 2008

Call Out The Instigators

Sorry it's so long between posts these days. It's partly because I'm working and partly because I'm running out of unreleased vinyl to rip.

I did a little experiment a while ago, one which showed I own more albums from 1972 than from any other year. As if to underline that, purely by chance, here are two albums I've had recent requests for, and both are from 1972. One I've not listened to for 20 years, probably, the other I've never played all the way through.

A few months ago I posted four tracks by Sandy Denny from the soundtrack to a rather dodgy soft-core 'adult' film from the mid-70s called 'Swedish Fly Girls'. I've now had a couple of requests for the whole album, so here you go.

I've no idea what it's like, I've only ever listened to the Sandy tracks (she sings Water Mother, What Will I Do With Tomorrow, Are the Judges Sane?, and I Need You). I've also listended to Beautiful People, but I'm quite a Melanie fan and would be amazed if it's her (even though she's credited with singing it). It *is* her song, though.

The other tracks are by Manfred Mann and/or Mose Henry (who he?), and almost all the backing tracks are by the Manfred Mann band.

Swedish Fly Girls - original film soundtrack album (1972)

01 - Queen Bee
02 - Where the Beauties Are
03 - Easy
04 - Beautiful People
05 - Outside of My Mind
06 - Water Mother
07 - The People Show
08 - Christa
09 - Broken-Glass Lives
10 - Love Is All I Need
11 - What Will I Do With Tomorrow
12 - On the Move
13 - Are the Judges Sane?
14 - Blot Jeg Meg En Mand Kan Faa (Love Is All I Need)
15 - I Need You
16 - Crystal Trumpet Smiles

Click here to download the Swedish Fly Girls album

Speedy Keen was Pete Townshend's chauffeur in the mid-60s, and was also a drummer and songwriter. Pete decided to bankroll and produce an album for him, and recruited Jimmy McCullough on guitar and Andy Newman on piano. With Pete playing bass (as 'Bijou Drains') they made an album, and released one track as a single. The result, Something In The Air by Thunderclap Newman, was one of the best - and most distinctive - English singles of the late 60s.

The band broke up, and Speedy made two solo albums. I haven't got the first one, but this is the second. You'll recognise the voice immediately (or at least you will if you're of that certain age)

Speedy Keen - Y'Know Wot I Mean? (1972)

01 - Crazy Love
02 - Almost Eighteen
03 - Nightmare
04 - Fighting In The Streets
05 - Bad Boys
06 - I Promise You
07 - Someone To Love
08 - My Love
09 - The Profit On Ecology

Click here to download Y'Know Wot I Mean