Friday, February 26, 2010

Y Viva Espana

I've been looking for this album for flamin' yonks and yonks.

Barbara Mauritz has - or had - one of the most unique voices in rock, and the three Lamb albums (see a *big* thanks to Mike Gilbert...) are extraordinary (especially 'Cross Between', which is the only one I have on vinyl). So when I learned that *the voice of Lamb* had made a solo album it went right up high on my list of albums to find.

Never found it. Until today. Casual browsing, searched for it, found it. A Spanish blog, full to the gunwales of albums that should never have been released on vinyl, let alone on CD. Grassy Arse, senor.

It's just a pity that the album isn't really much cop - the voice is great but the material is nearly all by other people and that's really not where she shines. The best track - by far - is her own 'Winter In The Valley', and that's the only one that really gets anywhere near the Lamb material (although 'I'm Bound To Be is co-written by her lamb partner). Nevertheless I'm glad I found it.

Barbara Mauritz - Music Box (1972)

01 - Sit Yourself Down (Stephen Stills)
02 - Drop Down Daddy (Sleepy John Estes)
03 - He Knows What To Do For Me (Mac Rebbenack)
04 - All The Love Of My Life (Link Wray)
05 - I'm Bound To Be (Barbara Mauritz & Bob Swanson)
06 - I Will Be There (Van Morrison)
07 - Around And Around (Chuck Berry)
08 - Winter In The Valley (Barbara Mauritz)
09 - Say That You Love Me (Loudon Wainwright)
10 - Whale (Barbara Mauritz)
11 - Music Box (Barbara Mauritz)

Download Barbara Mauritz - Music Box